76 replies to this topic

#1 TheMatt

TheMatt

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts

Posted 01 October 2006 - 06:56 PM

We seem to have predictions threads for many things, so why not this week's Nobel Prizes. As a chemist, I'll make some for the Chem prizes. As a theoretical chemist, I'll confine myself to that because, well, I only really know research in that field.

Some guesses are:
  • Rick Heller for "frozen" gaussian wavepacket dynamics
  • Martin Karplus for, I guess, his Karplus equation work in NMR, but a lot more stuff
  • A joint prize between John Tully and Nakamura Hiroki for their work on nonadiabatic theory
I can also be a homer for CU and pick Josef Michl or Casey Hynes. In reality, most are thinking either the green fluorescent protein or palladium people will win, with perennial Nobel possible George Whitesides in the fray as well.

As far as Physics, my guess is the people who did the research on the giant magnetoresistance effect (GMR), Grunberg, Felt, Sato. We all owe them a debt of gratitude for our spiffy near-TB hard drives. The erbium fiber optic people also have a shot.

Physio/Medicine and Economics I have no idea about.

Literature...I dunno. Uh...Inger Christensen, some poet I heard was a possible like two or three years ago.

And, of course, Peace. Will this be Bono's year? The Aussies at Centrebet have Martti Ahtisaari of Aceh accords fame as the favorite right now. In fact, a lot of Aceh folks are at the top. Interesting, internets people like Vint Cerf and Tim Berners-Lee are also on the list.
Dr TheMatt
Certified Nerd and Oh So Boring...

#2 hollywood

hollywood

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 27,627 posts

Posted 01 October 2006 - 07:42 PM

Are the awards politicized?

Then that happened.

I traveled to Tijuana to smack the federali

Who packing avocado toast like Mario Batali--Black Thought

#3 Maurice Naughton

Maurice Naughton

In Memoriam

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,010 posts