4 replies to this topic

#1 Rail Paul

Rail Paul

Advanced Member

• Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 23,679 posts

Posted 01 August 2014 - 01:02 PM

Glowing report in the Record from Elisa Ung, with an interesting side mention of another upcoming restaurant

Bronzino dishes can often be simple to the point of boring, but the self-taught Chacon presents two flawless crisp-skinned filets balancing one on top of the other, daring you to dunk them in the lemony broth underneath. Do it, and enjoy as the fish, skin still crisp, soaks up the tart broth. This hearty but light summer entrée is rounded out by potatoes, olives and spinach ($30).

080114-f-dineeggplant-bd-50p.jpg
kevin r. wexler/staff photographer
One of the Mediterranean restaurant's signature dishes is smoked eggplant over black tahini.

One of the most interesting dishes, the smoked eggplant over black tahini, is courtesy of consulting chef Eli Kachlon, a native of Israel who is opening another restaurant, Novo, in Ridgewood this fall. Since last year, Kachlon has helped refocus Mezza's menu with some compelling Middle Eastern flavors. The appetizer consists of smoked eggplant, its skin stripped off and mixed in tahini to make a dark sauce. The eggplant is rounded out with salty feta cheese and silan, a syrup made from dates ($12 for the appetizer).

- See more at: http://www.northjers...h.V4D6n3Ba.dpuf

Dreams come in all sizes, shapes, and colors.

#2 E.L.A.

E.L.A.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,594 posts

Posted 01 August 2014 - 03:04 PM

Sounds very interesting...thanks for the heads up...

#3 E.L.A.

E.L.A.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,594 posts

Posted 27 July 2018 - 02:59 PM