9 replies to this topic

#1 Stone

Stone

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 15,646 posts

Posted 24 March 2020 - 12:48 PM

I'm a decent home cook, although I don't cook much anymore.  But I've been trying to make palak paneer for about 30 years, and I just can't do it.  I don't know why.  It's basic.  The recipe is simple.  I just can't do it.  I get bland, watery sautéed chopped spinach with bits of onion and garlic.  I've tried boosting the amount of spices.  I've cooked the onion to browning.  I've squeezed all the water out of the spinach.  Nothing works.

#2 Behemoth

Behemoth

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8,049 posts

Posted 24 March 2020 - 02:09 PM

From the Guardian: 

More important than the type of spinach is what you do with it. More traditional Indian recipes simply add it fresh, simmering it down to a mush, but spinach being largely water, this leaves the dish too soggy for my taste. Dan Toombs, AKA the Curry Guy, who we encountered in our adventures in chicken tikka masala, wisely blanches the leaves first, then squeezes them dry before stirring them in at the end, which both keeps the dish dry, and means that you don't overcook the veg.

If you're using frozen spinach, take a tip from the excellently named Salvador Dhali on Curry Recipes forum, and allow it to defrost, drain and dry out before use – "it needs to be thoroughly squeezed of excess liquid (you'll be surprised at how much liquid comes out)," he writes. "It's key to the success of this dish." This surprise also applies to fresh spinach.

Link here

Summarizing, then, we assume that relational information is not subject to a corpus of utterance tokens upon which conformity has been defined by the paired utterance test.
-Chomskybot

#3 joethefoodie

joethefoodie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 12,280 posts

Posted 24 March 2020 - 02:55 PM

Yeah, even if you think all the water is squeezed out, it's probably not.