Hey everyone. I'm new to this entire Forum thing, especially on this website. Hopefully I've posted this in the correct thread. If not, please let me know.

I've recently started an instructional video food blog. I'd like to get your honest opinions on some of the videos I've edited together.

The basic idea behind the site is that I'll be taking recipes from around the internet and give them a video treatment to their instructions and will of course be credited.

Please let me know what you think.

Thanks!

Here is the website: Viral Menu (www.viralmenu.com)

The voiceover at the top needs to be tightened up.

I'd suggest you do some quick dissolves in between your jump cuts, to smooth the transition.

And be careful of your shadows when you're shooting!

But I like the concept and the voiceover delivery (though too slow at the top) is soothing. You may want to add a little pep to it but it's nice.

I agree with both Stone and Liza (and she is a production pro, so listen to her!) Uhhhhhhhhhhhh . . . groovy, man . . . ;) The one I watched looked nice, but almost put me in a trance. :lol:

From my perspective (I edit cookbooks for a living): MOST IMPORTANT: if you are lifting other people's recipes from the web, you'd damn well better give credit. In fact, you should be asking their permission. Remember, then you can link to their site and they'll link to yours -- you need that to drive traffic to your site. See Leite's Culinaria for how to use others' recipes really well.

The recipes, both written and oral, have too many needless words. You don't need to say, "I'm going to tell you how to make whatever in this recipe" when you could use the time showing us what to do, and all those okays and filler words are really distracting. But what you don't have and should is an oral "ingredients list" -- that is, before you start the cooking, you should tell and show what will be needed, the mise en place.