Daisy

City shorts for men (recreating this disappeared topic)

I live at what just might be the US nexus of men's fashion as worn by your friends and neighbors rather than on the runway or in a photo spread.Many hyper-groomed, extremely spiffy-looking fellows in my neighborhood, and I am used to seeing guys dressed to the teeth, in the latest, etc. on a daily basis.

At the beginning of the season there was a spate of bits in the press about shorts, as in dress shorts, bermuda shorts, whatever you want to call them, worn as business attire. I have a neighbor I have seen working a variation of this: long shorts, highly polished Prada loafers, an oxford-type shirt or a Lacoste. He is a smallish man, very trim and well-groomed and accessorized with the latest watch, belt, bag, etc., and he manages to pull it off albeit in a very "I work in the fashion business and spend at least an hour getting dressed each day" sort of way.

However, my world was rocked this afternoon by a model-boy type strollling up Seventh Avenue at about 21st Street. He was wearing a perfectly fitting white shirt and retro-skinny tie and carrying his gray sharkskin jacket. He was tall, lanky, with fashionably tousled and mussed hair and was wearing fashion-forward-looking lace-up shoes, short dark socks, and perfectly fitting suit pants with legs that ended at mid-thigh.He looked like an utter clown. The long, bare, hairy legs especially.

Am I being too harsh? Is this a look anyone should even contemplate? Am I being sexist? (I know this outfit on a woman would not have even gotten a second glance from me)

• Like 8

....a model-boy type strollling up Seventh Avenue at about 21st Street....
I think that says it all.