Sign in to follow this  
brulee nation

Rillettes - help!

Not really. I came by about 5.5# of frozen Hudson Valley legs and thighs today. Shopping sans recipe or technique, I could not find any rendered duck fat - but I figure there's plenty to be rendered from the meat I already have. Also bought 1# lean pork tenderloin and bacon to render bacon fat, because I got inspired and decided I wanted to do duck AND pork rillettes.

I'm a total novice. Yes, I can use google and site search here and elsewhere, and I do have Bourdain's Les Halles Cookbook, but I didn't buy pork belly. For pork rillettes, I was planning on using a recipe I found elsewhere on this site, which just called for lean pork, bacon fat and spices (I'll look up the donor later - thank you in advance, whoever you were). I have sage, I have thyme, I have juniper berries, I have peppercorns, and I bought some lard (not sure why, it just seemed like I should have it on hand - it's not leaflard). I suppose I need some white wine and some cognac?

Help me accomplish my duo of rillettes. Recipes and techniques greatly appreciated. No big rush - I'd like to make them next week. I do plan on having the willpower to leave the rillettes alone for one week after making them. Certainly not one year, as I have seen posted from time to time.

Do I really need earthenware pots to store it in? Can I get by with ceramic ramekins?