Didn't work until I graduated high school. Then I got a job in a children's room at the local independent bookstore for $5.75 an hour. I made literary recommendations to parents who wanted to teach their children about Christianity (Narnia), peer pressure (The Chocolate War--I got in trouble for that rec but I stand by it, since it's one of my all-time favorite YA books), drugs (Go Ask Alice--also got in trouble), and sex (could never think of one that wouldn't get me in trouble).

It sucked. I lasted about 3 months.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Aside from babysitting and occasionally getting paid to help my mom cater special events (she ran a cafeteria), my first official job (two summers in high school) was renting televisions to patients in a hospital. In those days I had to push the TVs around on a cart and hoist them up to install them where requested (I recall that I got very strong doing this). I even had to install them in burn units and in delivery rooms. It was commission-based, a captive audience for a monopoly service, and the hours were extremely flexible.

First full-time job: Working at a company that named other companies and products, doing business name registration clearances, title searches and other mundane paralegal tasks.

Most stupid job: First year uni summer job, writing, directing and acting in a video to teach tolerance toward Aboriginal persons. None of us who were hired to do this video were of Aboriginal origin, making the whole make-work project pointless.

Oddest job: Pound Puppy Caretaker.

Fly

First job - I was a twelve year old commercial artist in my dad's studio where I mastered the art of rub-off type, paste up, setting slides for slide shows, basic mechanical inking, photostats, etc....there wasn't always MS Publisher or Powerpoint ya know.

I started babysitting at around 11 and I also got a paper route around the same time. My sisters and I had quite the babysitting cartel.